The research endeavors of the University spanning across the faculties of Agriculture, Agricultural Engineering and Technology,and Home Science are delivered through 15 dedicated Research Stations strategically located in three Agroclimatic Zones represented by Regional Agricultural Research Stations viz., Northern, Central and Southern Telangana Zones headquartered at Jagtial, Warangal and Palem.

Further, twenty seven (27) AICRP Centres, two (2) AINP centres and three (3) schemes of the Government of India (GOI) are under operation(Annexures II & III). The research efforts in the faculty of Home Science are channeled through facilities like Post Graduate Research Centre, at Hyderabad. The major research activities are prioritized based onlocation specific constraints and needs of the farming community. The thematic research programmes are conceptualized and organized at each Agroclimatic Zone and local level focusing on emerging issues covering most important crops of the state like Rice, Maize, Sorghum, Cotton, Redgram, Soybean, Groundnut and Castor. The ultimate objective of this approach is to evolve cost-effective farm technologies through multi-disciplinary approach for food security at household level, farm profitability, sustainability of production systems, poverty alleviation leading to livelihood improvement and enhancing farmer’s income.


Agro Climatic Zones of Telangana State

Telangana State is apportionedinto three agro-climatic zones based on the geographical characteristics such as rainfall, temperature, nature of soils etc.,

i) North Telangana Zone

ii) Central Telangana Zone

iii) South Telangana Zone



North Telangana Zone

This zone includes Adilabad, Komaram Bheem Asifabad, Nirmal, Mancherial, Nizamabad, Jagtial...


Central Telangana Zone (CTZ)

This zone includes Sangareddy, Medak, Siddipet, Jangaon, Warangal Urban, Warangal Rural,...


Southern Telangana Zone(STZ)

This zone includes Vikarabad, Medchal Malkajgiri, Hyderabad, Yadadri Bhuvanagiri,...